About Us

The Communities In Schools of the Gulf South Story

Communities In Schools (CIS) of the Gulf South, was established in 1996 as Communities In Schools of Greater New Orleans. Communities In Schools of the Gulf South is an affiliate of Communities In Schools, a national nonprofit founded by Bill Milliken over 40 years ago.
Bill came up with the idea of bringing community resources inside public schools where they are accessible, coordinated, and accountable. Bill once said:

“It’s relationships, not programs, that change children."

He continued, "a great program simply creates the environment for healthy relationships to form between adults and children. Young people thrive when adults care about them on a one-to-one level, and when they also have a sense of belonging to a caring community.”

Following in the footsteps of Bill Milliken, a group of committed local volunteers including Margaret Wall, Claire Stahel, and the late Frances “Frankie” Wittenberg brought the national Communities In Schools model to New Orleans. Since 1996, CIS Gulf South has grown from serving students at one school to serving over 7,000 students across Orleans and Jefferson Parishes.

In the spring of 2018, Communities In Schools of Greater New Orleans changed its name to Communities In Schools of the Gulf South to reflect the growing needs of the broader community and to serve more students in our growing region. CIS Gulf South is continuing to expand and serve more students and families in the Greater New Orleans area, and will also begin serving students and families in Capital Area, Central Louisiana, and Acadiana in the near future.

HighResModel

Our Staff

Central Office Staff

ASchroeder


Amanda Schroeder, LPC-S

President
amandas@cisgulfsouth.org
504-941-1236

ADalDegan


Annie DalDegan
Director of Operations

annied@cisgulfsouth.org
504-486-8002

SLatter


Shayne Latter, LCSW-BACS
Senior Director of Student Services

shaynel@cisgulfsouth.org
504-301-6434

 

place holder


Taylor Callais-Rusich, LPC-S

Director of Student Services
Acadiana
taylorcr@cisgulfsouth.org
337-207-1768

place holder


Tawana Colbert, LPC

Director of Student Services
Acadiana
tawanac@cisgulfsouth.org
337-298-9057

place holder


Taylor Cox

Operations Coordinator
taylorcox@cisgulfsouth.org
504-421-4158

p223775362-6


Max Davidson, LCSW
Director of Student Services
New Orleans

maxd@cisgulfsouth.org
504-312-1249

place holder


Brittany Helfenstine, LCSW
Director of Student Services
New Orleans

brittanyh@cisgulfsouth.org
504-247-6825

Communities in Schools - CIS - Staff


Erin Sims, LPC-S
Director of Student Services & Advocacy
Baton Rouge

erins@cisgulfsouth.org
225-975-4407

place holder


Donneisha Wilson, LPC
Director of Volunteer Services
New Orleans

donneishaw@cisgulfsouth.org
504-439-2565

School-Based Staff

Greater New Orleans Elementary/Middle School Staff

place holder


Jamilah Ayad, LMSW

Site Coordinator
Samuel J. Green Charter School

jamilaha@cisgulfsouth.org
504-941-0943

place holder


Kyla Burke, LMSW
Site Coordinator
Lafayette Middle School

kylab@cisgulfsouth.org
504-235-6175

place holder


Kylan Dawson
PLPC, NCC
Behavioral Health Counselor
Arthur Ashe Charter

kyland@cisgulfsouth.org
504-418-9557

place holder


Felice Gaddis, LPC
Site Coordinator
Langston Hughes Academy
feliceg@cisgulfsouth.org
504-330-1956

place holder


Arianne Stallings, LMSW
Site Coordinator
Arthur Ashe Charter
ariannes@cisgulfsouth.org
504-421-6827

place holder


Nicole Barnes, PLPC
Site Coordinator
Lafayette Lower School

nicoleb@cisgulfsouth.org
504-252-7637

place holder


Shautera Clofer, LPC, NCC

Site Coordinator
Jefferson Rise Charter

shauterac@cisgulfsouth.org
504-418-1407

place holder

Amy Earehart Lovelace, PLPC, NCC
Site Coordinator
Foundation Prep

amyl@cisgulfsouth.org
504-418-1212

place holder


Catheryn Major, LMSW
Site Coordinator

Live Oak Charter
catherynm@cisgulfsouth.org
504-247-8864

place holder


Briana Stigger, LPC, NCC
Behavioral Health Counselor
Jefferson Rise Charter
brianastigger@cisgulfsouth.org
504-494-0328

place holder


Cat Bauske, LCSW
Behavioral Health Counselor
Live Oak Academy
catherineb@cisgulfsouth.org
504-352-3506

place holder


Tatiana Collins, PLPC
Behavioral Health Counselor
New Orleans Accelerated High
tatianac@cisgulfsouth.org
504-421-8074

place holder


Maya Edwards, LMSW
Behavioral Health Counselor
Phillis Wheatley 

mayae@cisgulfsouth.org
504-330-5254

place holder


Damara Malbrue,
PLPC, NCC
Site Coordinator
Jefferson Rise Charter
damaram@cisgulfsouth.org
504-258-4129

place holder


Jess Tregle-Moore, PLPC

Site Coordinator
Fannie C. Williams

jessicatm@cisgulfsouth.org
504-312-2098

place holder


Brittney Brown, PLPC
Behavioral Health Counselor
New Orleans Accelerated High
brittneyb@cisgulfsouth.org
504-232-0908

place holder


Shannel Cunningham
, PLPC
Site Coordinator
Langston Hughes Academy
shannelc@cisgulfsouth.org
504-442-8704

place holder


Bernell Elzey, PLPC, NCC
Site Coordinator
Phillis Wheatley
bernelle@cisgulfsouth.org
504-232-4052

place holder

Tatiana Pino, PLPC, NCC, MMT, MT-BC
Site Coordinator
Success Preparatory Academy
tatianap@cisgulfsouth.org
504-676-0900

place holder

 

 

Greater New Orleans High School Staff

place holder


Vanessa Batiste-Leal, CRC, LRC, PLPC

Site Coordinator
Living School

vanessabl@cisgulfsouth.org
504-330-0706

place holder


Chris Beamon, PLPC
Behavioral Health Counselor &
DEI Coordinator

New Harmony High School
chrisb@cisgulfsouth.org
504-235-4663

place holder


Meredith Core, PLPC, NCC

Site Coordinator
JCFA - West

meredithc@cisgulfsouth.org
504-239-0590

p195706873-6


Christine LeGuizamo, LCSW
Program Director
New Harmony High School
christinel@cisgulfsouth.org
504-228-4303

Acadiana Staff

place holder


Keyera Byrd, PLPC
Site Coordinator

Iberia Middle School
keyerab@cisgulfsouth.org
337-296-5720

place holder


Christian Narcisse, LMSW
Site Coordinator

Center St. Elementary
christiann@cisgulfsouth.org
337-349-6890

place holder


Desiree Drexler, LPC
Site Coordinator

Sugarland Elementary
desireed@cisgulfsouth.org
337-909-9167

place holder


Bridgette Sonnier, LCSW
Site Coordinator

Park Elementary
bridgettem@cisgulfsouth.org
337-909-9194

place holder


Teneka Gash, PLPC, RSW
Site Coordinator

St. Charles St Elementary
tenekag@cisgulfsouth.org
337-344-8958

place holder


Alicia Walker, LPC
Site Coordinator

Anderson Middle School
emilyt@cisgulfsouth.org
337-909-9188

place holder


Dakota Haymon, LMSW
Site Coordinator

JCFA Lafayette
dakotah@cisgulfsouth.org
337-230-7341

place holder

Baton Rouge Staff

place holder


Tarness Narcisse, PLPC
Site Coordinator

Inspire Charter
tarnessn@cisgulfsouth.org
225-955-9522

place holder

Board

CIS Gulf South is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors.

Ali Bustamante, Ph.D

Chairperson

Louisiana Workforce Commission

Kate Barron

Secretary

Retired Educator

Julie Breitmeyer

Treasurer

Retired CPA

Amanda Schroeder, LPC-S

President

Communities In Schools of the Gulf South

Charline Gipson

Davillier Law Group, LLC

Jeffrey Hamm

Standard Mortgage

Gracia Hillmann

Retired Government Affairs and Elections Executive

David Perlis

Perlis Clothing

Elizabeth Rhodes, Ph.D

Retired Professor

Missy Sparks, Ph.D

Ochsner Health Systems

David Trautenberg, Ed.D.

Align K12 Educational Consulting

Dan Wright

U.S. Department of the Interior

Danielle Wright, Ph.D

Navigate Nola

Claire Stahel

Community Volunteer

Board Emeritus

Margaret Wall

Community Volunteer

Board Emeritus

Contact Us

Mailing Address:

PO Box 792800

New Orleans, LA 70179

 

Physical Address:

3400 Bienville St., Suite B

New Orleans, LA 70119

Phone: 504-486-8002

Fax: 504-486-8020

Email: hello@cisgulfsouth.org

CIS National Office:

2345 Crystal Drive, Suite 700
Arlington, VA 22202
Phone: 800-247-4543

Subscribe to our newsletter!

newsletter-signup