About Us

The Communities In Schools of the Gulf South Story

Communities In Schools (CIS) of the Gulf South, was established in 1996 as Communities In Schools of Greater New Orleans. Communities In Schools of the Gulf South is an affiliate of Communities In Schools, a national nonprofit founded by Bill Milliken over 40 years ago.
Bill came up with the idea of bringing community resources inside public schools where they are accessible, coordinated, and accountable. Bill once said:

“It’s relationships, not programs, that change children."

He continued, "a great program simply creates the environment for healthy relationships to form between adults and children. Young people thrive when adults care about them on a one-to-one level, and when they also have a sense of belonging to a caring community.”

Following in the footsteps of Bill Milliken, a group of committed local volunteers including Margaret Wall, Claire Stahel, and the late Frances “Frankie” Wittenberg brought the national Communities In Schools model to New Orleans. Since 1996, CIS Gulf South has grown from serving students at one school to serving over 7,000 students across Orleans and Jefferson Parishes.

In the spring of 2018, Communities In Schools of Greater New Orleans changed its name to Communities In Schools of the Gulf South to reflect the growing needs of the broader community and to serve more students in our growing region. CIS Gulf South is continuing to expand and serve more students and families in the Greater New Orleans area, and will also begin serving students and families in Capital Area, Central Louisiana, and Acadiana in the near future.

HighResModel

Our Staff

Central Office Staff

ASchroeder


Amanda Schroeder, LPC-S

President
amandas@cisgulfsouth.org
504-941-1236

place holder


Taylor Cox
Director of Operations

taylorcox@cisgulfsouth.org
504-421-4158

SLatter


Shayne Latter, LCSW-BACS
Senior Director of Student Services

shaynel@cisgulfsouth.org
504-301-6434

 

Taylor Callais-Rusich Close


Taylor Callais-Rusich, LPC-S, NCC

Director of Student Services
Acadiana
taylorcr@cisgulfsouth.org
337-207-1768

Tawana Colbert 2


Tawana Colbert, LPC

Director of Student Services
Acadiana
tawanac@cisgulfsouth.org
337-298-9057

p223775362-6


Max Davidson, LCSW
Director of Student Services
New Orleans

maxd@cisgulfsouth.org
504-312-1249

place holder


Brittany Helfenstine, LCSW
Director of Student Services
New Orleans

brittanyh@cisgulfsouth.org
504-247-6825

place holder


Kelli Rednour
Administrative Specialist

kellir@cisgulfsouth.org
504-486-8002

Communities in Schools - CIS - Staff


Erin Sims, LPC-S
Director of Student Services & Advocacy
Baton Rouge

erins@cisgulfsouth.org
225-975-4407

place holder


Donneisha Wilson, LPC, NCC
Director of Volunteer Services
New Orleans

donneishaw@cisgulfsouth.org
504-439-2565

School-Based Staff

Greater New Orleans Elementary/Middle School Staff

place holder


Emma Anderson, CSW
Site Coordinator
Esperanza Charter School

emmaa@cisgulfsouth.org
504-258-4826

Shautera Clofer Close


Shautera Clofer, LPC, NCC

Site Coordinator
Jefferson Rise Charter

shauterac@cisgulfsouth.org
504-418-1407

Bernell Close


Bernell Elzey, PLPC, NCC
Site Coordinator
Phillis Wheatley
bernelle@cisgulfsouth.org
504-232-4052

Catheryn Major Close


Catheryn Major, LMSW
Site Coordinator

Live Oak Charter
catherynm@cisgulfsouth.org
504-247-8864

Jamilah Ayad Close


Jamilah Ayad, LMSW

Site Coordinator
Samuel J. Green Charter School

jamilaha@cisgulfsouth.org
504-941-0943

Kylan Dawson Close


Kylan Dawson
PLPC, NCC
Behavioral Health Counselor
Arthur Ashe Charter

kyland@cisgulfsouth.org
504-418-9557

place holder


Don Francis, LMSW
Site Coordinator
Lafayette Middle School
donf@cisgulfsouth.org
504-301-5449

Damara Malbrue Close


Damara Malbrue,
PLPC, NCC
Site Coordinator
Jefferson Rise Charter
damaram@cisgulfsouth.org
504-258-4129

Nicole Barnes Close


Nicole Barnes, M.A., PLPC
Site Coordinator
Lafayette Lower School

nicoleb@cisgulfsouth.org
504-252-7637

Amy Lovelace Close

Amy Earehart Lovelace, PLPC, NCC
Site Coordinator
Foundation Prep

amyl@cisgulfsouth.org
504-418-1212

Felice Gaddis Close


Felice Gaddis, LPC
Site Coordinator
Langston Hughes Academy
feliceg@cisgulfsouth.org
504-330-1956

Caitlin Riddle


Caitlin Riddle, LMSW
Site Coordinator
Elan Academy
caitlinr@cisgulfsouth.org
504-376-4797

Cat Bauske Close


Cat Bauske, LCSW
Behavioral Health Counselor
Live Oak Academy
catherineb@cisgulfsouth.org
504-352-3506

Maya Edwards Close


Maya Edwards, LMSW
Behavioral Health Counselor
Phillis Wheatley 

mayae@cisgulfsouth.org
504-330-5254

place holder


Hena Kausar, LMSW
Behavioral Health Counselor
Langston Hughes Academy
henak@cisgulfsouth.org
504-442-8704

Arianne Stallings Close


Arianne Stallings, LMSW
Site Coordinator
Arthur Ashe Charter
ariannes@cisgulfsouth.org
504-421-6827

Jess Tregle-Moore Close


Jess Tregle-Moore, PLPC

Site Coordinator
Fannie C. Williams

jessicatm@cisgulfsouth.org
504-312-2098

Greater New Orleans High School Staff

Vanessa Batiste-Leal - Close Up


Vanessa Batiste-Leal, CRC, LRC, PLPC, NCC

Site Coordinator
Living School

vanessabl@cisgulfsouth.org
504-330-0706

Chris Beamon Close


Chris Beamon, PLPC
Behavioral Health Counselor &
DEI Coordinator

New Harmony High School
chrisb@cisgulfsouth.org
504-235-4663

Brittney Brown Close


Brittney Brown, PLPC
Behavioral Health Counselor
New Orleans Accelerated High
brittneyb@cisgulfsouth.org
504-232-0908

Tatiana Collins Close


Tatiana Collins, PLPC
Behavioral Health Counselor
New Orleans Accelerated High
tatianac@cisgulfsouth.org
504-421-8074

Meredith Core Close


Meredith Core, LPC, NCC

Site Coordinator
JCFA - West

meredithc@cisgulfsouth.org
504-239-0590

place holder


Joycelyn Hall, LMSW
Site Coordinator
Ben Franklin High School
joycelynh@cisgulfsouth.org
504-418-6069

Christine LeGuizamo Close


Christine LeGuizamo, LCSW
Program Director
New Harmony High School
christinel@cisgulfsouth.org
504-228-4303

Acadiana Staff

Keyera Byrd Close


Keyera Byrd, PLPC
Site Coordinator

Iberia Middle School
keyerab@cisgulfsouth.org
337-296-5720

Teneka Gash


Teneka Gash, PLPC, RSW
Site Coordinator

St. Charles St Elementary
tenekag@cisgulfsouth.org
337-344-8958

Dana Judice 2


Dana Judice, LCSW
Site Coordinator

Dapsit Elementary
danaj@cisgulfsouth.org
337-349-1570

Kimberly Clay Close


Kimberly Clay, PLPC
Site Coordinator
Magnolia Elementary
kimberlyc@cisgulfsouth.org
337-349-6890

Dakota Haymon 2


Dakota Haymon, LMSW
Site Coordinator

JCFA Lafayette
dakotah@cisgulfsouth.org
337-230-7341

Heidi Olivier


Heidi Olivier, LMSW
Site Coordinator

Caneview Elementary
heidio@cisgulfsouth.org
337-967-1844

Reagen Davis 2


Reagen Davis
Site Coordinator

Johnston-Hopkins Elementary
reagend@cisgulfsouth.org
337-909-9177

Charlotte Jackson 2


Charlotte Jackson, PLPC
Site Coordinator

Westgate High School
charlottej@cisgulfsouth.org
337-241-3572

Bridgette Mouton Sonnier Close


Bridgette Sonnier, LCSW
Site Coordinator

Park Elementary
bridgettem@cisgulfsouth.org
337-909-9194

Desiree' Drexler 1


Desiree Drexler, LPC
Site Coordinator

Sugarland Elementary
desireed@cisgulfsouth.org
337-909-9167

Senetra Joe


Senetra Joe, PLPC
Site Coordinator

Loureauville Elementary
senetraj@cisgulfsouth.org
337-380-5424

Alicia Walker


Alicia Walker, LPC
Site Coordinator

Anderson Middle School
aliciaw@cisgulfsouth.org
337-909-9188

Baton Rouge Staff

place holder


Errin P. George, LMSW
Site Coordinator
Advantage Charter School

erring@cisgulfsouth.org
225-955-7981

place holder


Tarness Narcisse, PLPC
Site Coordinator

Inspire Charter
tarnessn@cisgulfsouth.org
225-955-9522

Board

CIS Gulf South is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors.

Ali Bustamante, Ph.D

Chairperson

Louisiana Workforce Commission

Kate Barron

Secretary

Retired Educator

Julie Breitmeyer

Treasurer

Retired CPA

Amanda Schroeder, LPC-S

President

Communities In Schools of the Gulf South

Charline Gipson

Davillier Law Group, LLC

Jeffrey Hamm

Standard Mortgage

Gracia Hillmann

Retired Government Affairs and Elections Executive

David Perlis

Perlis Clothing

Elizabeth Rhodes, Ph.D

Retired Professor

Missy Sparks, Ph.D

Ochsner Health Systems

David Trautenberg, Ed.D.

Align K12 Educational Consulting

Dan Wright

U.S. Department of the Interior

Danielle Wright, Ph.D

Navigate Nola

Claire Stahel

Community Volunteer

Board Emeritus

Margaret Wall

Community Volunteer

Board Emeritus

Contact Us

Mailing Address:

PO Box 792800

New Orleans, LA 70179

 

Physical Address:

3400 Bienville St., Suite B

New Orleans, LA 70119

Phone: 504-486-8002

Fax: 504-486-8020

Email: hello@cisgulfsouth.org

CIS National Office:

2345 Crystal Drive, Suite 700
Arlington, VA 22202
Phone: 800-247-4543