About Us

The Communities In Schools of the Gulf South Story

Communities In Schools (CIS) of the Gulf South, was established in 1996 as Communities In Schools of Greater New Orleans. Communities In Schools of the Gulf South is an affiliate of Communities In Schools, a national nonprofit founded by Bill Milliken over 40 years ago.
Bill came up with the idea of bringing community resources inside public schools where they are accessible, coordinated, and accountable. Bill once said:

“It’s relationships, not programs, that change children."

He continued, "a great program simply creates the environment for healthy relationships to form between adults and children. Young people thrive when adults care about them on a one-to-one level, and when they also have a sense of belonging to a caring community.”

Following in the footsteps of Bill Milliken, a group of committed local volunteers including Margaret Wall, Claire Stahel, and the late Frances “Frankie” Wittenberg brought the national Communities In Schools model to New Orleans. Since 1996, CIS Gulf South has grown from serving students at one school to serving over 7,000 students across Orleans and Jefferson Parishes.

In the spring of 2018, Communities In Schools of Greater New Orleans changed its name to Communities In Schools of the Gulf South to reflect the growing needs of the broader community and to serve more students in our growing region. CIS Gulf South is continuing to expand and serve more students and families in the Greater New Orleans area, and will also begin serving students and families in Capital Area, Central Louisiana, and Acadiana in the near future.

HighResModel

Our Staff

Central Office Staff

ASchroeder

Amanda Schroeder, LPC-S
President
amandas@cisgulfsouth.org
504-941-1236

place holder

Brittany Helfenstine, LCSW
Director of Student Services

brittanyh@cisgulfsouth.org
504-247-6825

SLatter

Shayne Latter, LCSW-BACS
Director of Student Services

shaynel@cisgulfsouth.org
504-301-6434

 

Communities in Schools - CIS - Staff

Brittney Thomas, LPC
Director of Student Services &
AmeriCorps Program Director
brittneyt@cisgulfsouth.org
504-418-3522

ADalDegan

Annie DalDegan
Director of Operations

annied@cisgulfsouth.org
504-486-8002

place holder

Lindsey Jakiel Diulus, Ph.D
Director of Development
lindseyd@cisgulfsouth.org
504-247-7221

place holder

Rebecca Rubenstein
National Programs & Mentoring Coordinator
Avodah Volunteer
rebeccar@cisgulfsouth.org
504-494-0328

School-Based Staff

Elementary and Middle School Staff

p306577388-6

Mariel Aken, LPC-S, NCC
Senior Site Coordinator
Arhur Ashe Charter School

mariela@cisgulfsouth.org
504-421-6827

SBarnes

Sarah Barnes, PLPC, NCC
Site Coordinator
Foundation Preparatory Charter School
sarahb@cisgulfsouth.org
504-418-1212

Communities in Schools - CIS - Staff

Rachel Brown, LCSW, QSSW
Senior Site Coordinator
Success Preparatory Academy
rachelb@cisgulfsouth.org
504-676-0900

place holder

Shautera Clofer, PLPC
Site Coordinator
Jefferson RISE Charter School
shauterac@cisgulfsouth.org
504-418-1407

place holder

Shannel Cunningham, PLPC
Behavioral Health Counselor
Langston Hughes Academy
shannelc@cisgulfsouth.org
504-442-8704

p223775362-6

Max Davidson, LMSW
Site Coordinator

Phillis Wheatley Community School
maxd@cisgulfsouth.org
504-330-5254

place holder

Kimberly Davis, PLPC
Site Coordinator
Cypress Academy

kimd@cisgulfsouth.org
504-252-8256

place holder

Andrea DiBlasi, LPC-S
Behavioral Health Counselor
Phillis Wheatley Community School
andread@cisgulfsouth.org
504-232-4052

p75987155-6

Hannah Knipp, LMSW
SEL Specialist

Bricolage Academy
hannahk@cisgulfsouth.org
504-250-2163

place holder

Melissa Mendieta, LMSW, QSSW
Site Coordinator
Langston Hughes Academy

melissam@cisgulfsouth.org
504-330-1956

place holder

Stephan Pruitt, PLPC
Site Coordinator

Encore Academy
stephanp@cisgulfsouth.org
504-941-1228

Communities in Schools - CIS - Staff

Erin Sims, LPC
Site Coordinator

Live Oak Academy
erins@cisgulfsouth.org
504-247-8864

place holder

Donneisha Wilson, PLPC
Senior Site Coordinator
Morris Jeff Community School

donneishaw@cisgulfsouth.org
504-232-2390

place holder

Leonis Woods, LCSW, QSSW
Site Coordinator
Samuel Green Charter School
leonisw@cisgulfsouth.org
504-941-0943

High School Staff

p29066254-6

Trisha Botello, LPC
Site Coordinator
The NET Charter High school

trishab@cisgulfsouth.org
504-252-6409

place holder

Lanier Clement, PLPC
Site Coordinator
JCFA - East

lanierc@cisgulfsouth.org
504-444-2259

place holder

Evelina Jagminaite, PLPC
Site Coordinator
New Harmony High School

evelinaj@cisgulfsouth.org
504-228-4303

p195706873-6

Christine LeGuizamo, LMSW
Site Coordinator
JCFA - Algiers
christinel@cisgulfsouth.org
504-301-5449

place holder

Unitra Long, PLPC
Site Coordinator

JCFA - West
unitral@cisgulfsouth.org
504-239-0590

Board

CIS Gulf South is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors.

David Perlis

Chairperson

 Business Owner

Perlis Clothing

Kate Barron

Secretary

Retired Educator

Julie Breitmeyer

Treasurer

Retired CPA

Geri Brumfield

Retired Educator

Ali Bustamante, Ph.D

Chief Economist

Louisiana Workforce Commission

Jeanne Foster

Publisher

Gambit Weekly

Charline Gipson

Attorney

Davillier Law Group, LLC

Jeffrey Hamm

Producer/Business Development

Standard Mortgage

Elizabeth Rhodes, Ed.D

Retired Professor

Missy Sparks, Ph.D

Asst. VP for Talent Management

Ochsner Health Systems

Sally Suthon

Business Owner

Suthon Solutions, Inc.

Danielle Wright, Ph.D

Executive Director

Navigate Nola

Dan Wright

Policy Analyst

U.S. Department of the Interior

Claire Stahel

Community Volunteer

Board Emeritus

Margaret Wall

Community Volunteer

Board Emeritus

Amanda Schroeder, LPC-S

President

Communities In Schools of the Gulf South

Contact Us

Mailing Address:

PO Box 792800

New Orleans, LA 70179

 

Physical Address:

3400 Bienville St., Suite B

New Orleans, LA 70119

Phone: 504-486-8002

Fax: 504-486-8020

Email: hello@cisgulfsouth.org

Subscribe to our newsletter!

newsletter-signup