Skip to content

About Us

The Communities In Schools of the Gulf South Story

Communities In Schools (CIS) of the Gulf South, was established in 1996 as Communities In Schools of Greater New Orleans. Communities In Schools of the Gulf South is an affiliate of Communities In Schools, a national nonprofit founded by Bill Milliken over 40 years ago.
Bill came up with the idea of bringing community resources inside public schools where they are accessible, coordinated, and accountable. Bill once said:

“It’s relationships, not programs, that change children."

He continued, "a great program simply creates the environment for healthy relationships to form between adults and children. Young people thrive when adults care about them on a one-to-one level, and when they also have a sense of belonging to a caring community.”

Following in the footsteps of Bill Milliken, a group of committed local volunteers including Margaret Wall, Claire Stahel, and the late Frances “Frankie” Wittenberg brought the national Communities In Schools model to New Orleans. Since 1996, CIS Gulf South has grown from serving students at one school to serving over 7,000 students across Orleans and Jefferson Parishes.

In the spring of 2018, Communities In Schools of Greater New Orleans changed its name to Communities In Schools of the Gulf South to reflect the growing needs of the broader community and to serve more students in our growing region. CIS Gulf South is continuing to expand and serve more students and families in the Greater New Orleans area, and will also begin serving students and families in Capital Area, Central Louisiana, and Acadiana in the near future.

HighResModel

Our Staff

Central Office Staff

ASchroeder

Amanda Schroeder, LPC-S
President
amandas@cisgulfsouth.org
504-941-1236

place holder

Donna Cavato
Chief Program Officer
donnac@cisgulfsouth.org
504-232-4114

ADalDegan

Annie DalDegan
Director of Operations

annied@cisgulfsouth.org
504-486-8002

place holder

Taylor Cox
Operations Coordinator
taylorcox@cisgulfsouth.org
504-421-4158

Communities in Schools - CIS - Staff

Brittney Thomas, LPC
Director of Student Services &
AmeriCorps Program Director
brittneyt@cisgulfsouth.org
504-418-3522

place holder

Brittany Helfenstine, LCSW
Director of Student Services

brittanyh@cisgulfsouth.org
504-247-6825

SLatter

Shayne Latter, LCSW-BACS
Director of Student Services

shaynel@cisgulfsouth.org
504-301-6434

 

place holder

Taylor Callais-Rusich, LPC
Director of Student Services
Acadiana Region
taylorcr@cisgulfsouth.org
337-207-1768

School-Based Staff

Elementary and Middle School Staff

place holder

Vanessa Batiste-Leal, PLPC
Site Coordinator
Fannie C. Williams Charter

vanessabl@cisgulfsouth.org
504-330-0706

place holder

Chris Beamon, PLPC
Behavioral Health Counselor
The NET: Gentilly / Central City
chrisb@cisgulfsouth.org
504-421-6634

place holder

Gerquel Bowman, PLPC
Site Coordinator
Lawrence D. Crocker College Prep
gerquelb@cisgulfsouth.org
504-418-7694

place holder

Janee' Chambers, PLPC
Site Coordinator
Success Preparatory Academy
janeec@cisgulfsouth.org
504-676-0900

place holder

Shautera Clofer, PLPC
Site Coordinator
Jefferson Rise Charter

shauterac@cisgulfsouth.org
504-418-1407

place holder

Shannel Cunningham, PLPC
Site Coordinator
Langston Hughes Academy
shannelc@cisgulfsouth.org
504-442-8704

p223775362-6

Max Davidson, LMSW
Site Coordinator

Phillis Wheatley Community School
maxd@cisgulfsouth.org
504-330-5254

place holder

Kimberly Davis, PLPC
Site Coordinator
Foundation Preparatory Academy

kimd@cisgulfsouth.org
504-418-1212

place holder

Andrea DiBlasi, LPC-S
Site Coordinator
Phillis Wheatley Community School
andread@cisgulfsouth.org
504-232-4052

place holder

Damara Malbrue, PLPC, NCC
Behavioral Health Counselor

Arthur Ashe Charter
damaram@cisgulfsouth.org
504-418-9557

place holder

Leonis Rousseve, LCSW, QSSW
Site Coordinator
Samuel J. Green Charter

leonisr@cisgulfsouth.org
504-941-0943

Communities in Schools - CIS - Staff

Erin Sims, LPC
Senior Site Coordinator

Live Oak Academy
erins@cisgulfsouth.org
504-247-8864

place holder

Arianne Stallings, LMSW
Site Coordinator
Arthur Ashe Charter
ariannes@cisgulfsouth.org
504-421-6827

place holder

Briana Stigger, PLPC, NCC
Behavioral Health Counselor
Jefferson Rise Charter
brianastigger@cisgulfsouth.org
504-494-0328

place holder

Donneisha Wilson, LPC, NCC
Senior Site Coordinator
Morris Jeff Community School

donneishaw@cisgulfsouth.org
504-232-2390

High School Staff

place holder

Vanessa Batiste-Leal, PLPC
Site Coordinator
Living School

vanessabl@cisgulfsouth.org
504-330-0706

p29066254-6

Trisha Botello, LPC
Senior Site Coordinator
The NET Charter High school

trishab@cisgulfsouth.org
504-252-6409

place holder

Meredith Core, PLPC, NCC
Site Coordinator
JCFA - West

meredithc@cisgulfsouth.org
504-239-0590

place holder

D'Ontri Cosse', PLPC
Site Coordinator
JCFA - Algiers

d'ontric@cisgulfsouth.org
504-301-5449

p195706873-6

Christine LeGuizamo, LMSW
Site Coordinator
New Harmony High School
christinel@cisgulfsouth.org
504-228-4303

place holder

Oriel Romano, PLPC
Site Coordinator

JCFA - East
orielr@cisgulfsouth.org
504-444-2259

Acadiana Staff

place holder

Tawana Colbert, PLPC
Site Coordinator

Westgate High School
tawanac@cisgulfsouth.org
337-241-3572

place holder

Kathryn Dietzway, LCSW
Site Coordinator

JCFA - Lafayette
kathrynd@cisgulfsouth.org
337-230-7341

place holder

Marilyn Parker, LPC-S, NCC
Site Coordinator

Anderson Middle School
marilynp@cisgulfsouth.org
337-909-9188

place holder

Desiree Drexler, LPC
Site Coordinator

Sugarland Elementary
desireed@cisgulfsouth.org
337-909-9167

place holder

Emily Terrell, LCSW
Site Coordinator

Johnston-Hopkins Elementary
emilyt@cisgulfsouth.org
337-909-9177

place holder

Bridgette Mouton, LCSW
Site Coordinator

Park Elementary
bridgettem@cisgulfsouth.org
337-909-9194

Board

CIS Gulf South is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors.

David Perlis

Chairperson

Perlis Clothing

Ali Bustamante, Ph.D

Vice-Chair

Louisiana Workforce Commission

Kate Barron

Secretary

Retired Educator

Julie Breitmeyer

Treasurer

Retired CPA

Amanda Schroeder, LPC-S

President

Communities In Schools of the Gulf South

Jeanne Foster

Publisher

Gambit Weekly

Charline Gipson

Attorney

Davillier Law Group, LLC

Jeffrey Hamm

Producer/Business Development

Standard Mortgage

Elizabeth Rhodes, Ph.D

Retired Professor

Xavier University

Missy Sparks, Ph.D

Asst. VP for Talent Management

Ochsner Health Systems

Dan Wright

Policy Analyst

U.S. Department of the Interior

Danielle Wright, Ph.D

Executive Director

Navigate Nola

Claire Stahel

Community Volunteer

Board Emeritus

Margaret Wall

Community Volunteer

Board Emeritus

Contact Us

Mailing Address:

PO Box 792800

New Orleans, LA 70179

 

Physical Address:

3400 Bienville St., Suite B

New Orleans, LA 70119

Phone: 504-486-8002

Fax: 504-486-8020

Email: hello@cisgulfsouth.org

Subscribe to our newsletter!

newsletter-signup